top of page

Alexander Award for Pre-Service Teachers

Updated: Apr 7, 2022

The Alexander Award was established in 1998 to be awarded annually to an outstanding future Kansas foreign language teacher, a student currently enrolled in a formal teacher-training program or fulfilling his/her professional semester. It is in honor of Dr. Loren Alexander (1930-2017), who taught FL methods and German for many years at Kansas State University. The candidate must be a future foreign language teacher who is currently under the supervision and/or training in an accredited Kansas university. The candidate must be nominated by a professional foreign language educator who is a current member of KSWLA.

The award recipient will receive a two-year membership to ACTFL (at the BASIC level) and have their current KSWLA conference registration, including meals covered. Nominations must be submitted by June 1st. For further information, contact the KSWLA Past President.


Previous Recipients

2021: Denise Menjivar, Wichita State University

2020: Hannah Schmidt, Wichita State University

2019: April Taylor, Emporia State University 2018: Brandon Davis, Washburn University 2017: Jennifer Bailey, Wichita State University

2016: Claire Schroettner, Benedictine College

2015: Mason Talbott, Wichita State University 2014: Annika Schneider, Kansas State University 2013: (no nominee) 2012: (no nominee) 2011: Elizabeth Carmen Wilson, Kansas State University 2010: Jessie Skala, Wichita State University 2009: María Elizabeth Chávez Miller, Friends University 2008: Lindsey Alexander, Friends University 2007: Joanna Lord, Friends University 2006: Daagya Dick, Friends University 2005: Courtney VanSant, Friends University 2004: Erin Douglas, Pittsburg State University 2003: Regina Winemiller, Pittsburg State University 2002: (no nominee) 2001: Heather Bledsoe, Pittsburg State University 2000: Ronda Montieth, University of Kansas 1999: Jodi Parsons, Pittsburg State University 1998: Amy Poos, University of Kansas


bottom of page