top of page

Conference VIPs

Updated: Apr 25

KSWLA will assist up to five first-year language teachers or first-time attendees in attending the annual conference.

The conference registration fee will be completely waived, funds permitting.

VIPs will sit with the executive board at the business meeting. The board will arrange for VIPs to visit with the keynote speaker.

VIP status will be awarded on a first come, first served basis. Foreign nationals not paying taxes in the U.S. are not eligible for this grant. Deadline for grant proposals is June 1st. For further information, contact the KSWLA Past President (


Previous Recipients


Gabbie Baiza, Osawatomie High School

Allisson Fernanda Restrepo, Kansas State University


Madeline (Min) Zhang, Blue Valley North High School

Lexie Ellerbeck, Salina

Amy Hund, Topeka High School

Elise Cresswell, Free State High School

Tyler Luckett, Andover High School

Silvia Duque, The Independent School

Isaach Johnson, Emporia High School


Mariah Brown

Aspen Butler, Wichita North High School

Lysette Cruz, Wichita Independent Lower School

Esmeralda Conde, Wichita High School South

Kaitlin Patterson, Chisolm Trail MS

Hannah Schmidt, Wichita High School South

April Taylor, Wichita High School North


Tyler Crighton, Wichita North High School

Sarah Ouis, Newton High School

Jamie Smith, Salina South High School


Jennifer Weaver, Halstead High School

Alicia Egan, Salina High School


Amanda Allen, Nickerson High School

Zachary Dent, Newton High School

Clint Hayes, Frontenac High School

Chandler Ochoa, Newton High School

Anatolia Ruiz, Pittsburg High School

Mason Talbott, Wichita North High School


Ricardo Sanchez

Chelsea Urban


Heather Cox, St Mary’s Colgan High School

Pittsburg Chelsea Funk, Oakley High School Shelly Power, Salina Central High School


Elizabeth Janzen, Salina Central HS

Rachel Bolter, Shawnee Mission Schools Susanna Tippett, Newton HS

Heather Cox, St. Mary's Colgan HS


Sally Hardy, Atchinson Community HS

Cynthia Hartwell, Shawnee Mission South HS Emily Majerle, St. Thomas Aquinas HS


Lee Dixon, Shawnee Mission South HS

Katherine Seyfried, Junction City HS

Paige Pate, Galena and Riverton HS;

Casey Bell, Abilene HS

Kristal Jurich, Royster Middle School


Brigette Burandt

Paola Fuentes

Carmen Shirley

Erin Schoen

Claudia Torrez


Rebecca Fleming

Margarita Santiago

Bailey Charland

Shelley Marsh

Rachel Kelly


Miriam Friesen

Kelly Hammond

Mira Ristic


Lindsy Cusic

Liz Gordon

Adam Hamor

Melinda Velásquez

Camille Woods


Lisa Gielelman